You are either not logged in or not registered with our community. Click here to register.
 
December 09, 2016, 01:43:22 AM

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length

Click here if you are having problems.
Default Wide Screen Beige Lilac Rainbow Black & Blue October Send us your theme!

Hark!  The Herald!
Holiday Issue 2016

Wiki Blogs Dicebot

Author Topic: Forcing https?  (Read 5906 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Sparrowhawke

  • Dim's adorable bed monster. Sacred profane. Walking contradiction. The Wyrst.
  • Liege
  • Enchanter
  • *
  • Join Date: Sep 2010
  • Location: In your head.
  • Gender: Male
  • Goddamn right you should be scared of me
  • My Role Play Preferences
  • View My Rolls
  • Referrals: 4
Re: Forcing https?
« Reply #150 on: August 24, 2013, 03:45:50 AM »
They both work fine for me. I take this as a good thing. Especially since I have really no idea what the difference would mean.

Exactly my thoughts. Both sites are working fine for me.

Online VekseidTopic starter

Re: Forcing https?
« Reply #151 on: August 24, 2013, 04:05:56 AM »
Exactly my thoughts. Both sites are working fine for me.

Some consumer/consumer accessible (hospital, etc) ISPs are censoring Elliquiy. This will make that less likely.

Some ISPs are inappropriately caching things on Elliquiy. This makes that impossible.


Offline bigdean777

Re: Forcing https?
« Reply #152 on: August 24, 2013, 05:56:05 AM »
Worked fine on my laptop and phone.

Offline Remec

Re: Forcing https?
« Reply #153 on: August 24, 2013, 07:45:16 AM »
Basically, if
https://elliquiy.com

Works for you, then all would be well. If it doesn't, (but http://elliquiy.com works) then let me know here, please.

Worked for me, took me right to the opening page and a entered with no problem.

Offline MzNurse

Re: Forcing https?
« Reply #154 on: August 24, 2013, 08:11:05 AM »
https does not work on my computer, but if there's something simple I need to do to fix that, let me know (and I'll need someone to walk me through it, because I'm really computer naive).

Online stormwyrm

Re: Forcing https?
« Reply #155 on: August 24, 2013, 08:14:34 AM »
Could you add securecookie to that and check to make sure it works, please?

Code: [Select]
<ruleset name="Elliquiy">
  <target host="www.elliquiy.com" />
  <target host="elliquiy.com" />

  <rule from="^http://(www\.)?elliquiy\.com/" to="https://elliquiy.com/"/>
  <securecookie host="^(\.)?elliquiy\.com$" name="(ElliSMFCookie11|PHPSESSID)" />
</ruleset>

This seems to work just fine for me. No oddities so far.

Offline auroraChloe

Re: Forcing https?
« Reply #156 on: August 24, 2013, 08:24:55 AM »

Basically, if
https://elliquiy.com

Works for you, then all would be well.


https works from here


I've had an HTTPSEverywhere rule forcing https access site-wide ever since I joined E, and it works fine except for uploading files to the wiki. I have to turn it off and use http to get that to work.


https @ the wiki worked also, but i didn't try the uploading of any files.   

Online Caitlin

Re: Forcing https?
« Reply #157 on: August 24, 2013, 08:30:29 AM »
I'm fine with going all https, but I hope you fix the bug with private messages. When I click on the new private messages it continues to be new messages even after I read them and sent replies. I also get a pop up that asks if I want to load unsafe parts of the website.

Other than that I didn't encounter any problems and from what I read https has some huge benefits.

Offline Haibane

Re: Forcing https?
« Reply #158 on: August 24, 2013, 08:52:34 AM »
Then, in Firefox, go to Help->Troubleshooting Information and under the Application Basics section, click on Open Containing Folder. There a window will appear and you should copy the Elliquiy.xml file inside the HTTPSEverywhereUserRules folder. Then restart your browser. These instructions of course are specific for Windows. Not sure how it's done on OS X or any other OS but it boils down to putting the ruleset in the folder where user rules are stored, and restarting the browser (or alternatively disabling and re-enabling HTTPS Everywhere).
I have Firefox 23.0.1 and I don't have a "Open Containing Folder" in the "Application Basics" section.

I do have a "Profile Folder" button but when selecting that it opens Firefox's profiles folder.

Am I in the right place?

Offline littlerooster

Re: Forcing https?
« Reply #159 on: August 24, 2013, 08:55:22 AM »
Worked fine for me.

Offline dragonsen

Re: Forcing https?
« Reply #160 on: August 24, 2013, 09:00:18 AM »
I have Firefox 23.0.1 and I don't have a "Open Containing Folder" in the "Application Basics" section.

I do have a "Profile Folder" button but when selecting that it opens Firefox's profiles folder.

Am I in the right place?
Ye, you are in the right place.
« Last Edit: August 24, 2013, 09:02:45 AM by dragonsen »

Offline Haibane

Re: Forcing https?
« Reply #161 on: August 24, 2013, 09:18:11 AM »
Ye, you are in the right place.
There isn't a "HTTPSEverywhereUserRules" folder either.

This is what I'm seeing after opening the "Profile Folder" button:



« Last Edit: August 24, 2013, 09:27:19 AM by Haibane »

Offline Tiberius

Re: Forcing https?
« Reply #162 on: August 24, 2013, 09:48:11 AM »
I have no idea lol, my browser hides it from me its showing it as elliquiy.com no http or https in front

Offline Thesunmaid

Re: Forcing https?
« Reply #163 on: August 24, 2013, 10:33:23 AM »
It seems to be working fine for me with both sites.

Offline fancyfictions

Re: Forcing https?
« Reply #164 on: August 24, 2013, 11:32:17 AM »
Both worked for me.

Offline Falanor

Re: Forcing https?
« Reply #165 on: August 24, 2013, 12:35:19 PM »
PC/Laptop - Check
Firefox for Android - Check
Safari on iPod - Check

When I get home I'll give it a whirl on my 360 and PS3, will update then.

Offline TaintedAndDelish

Re: Forcing https?
« Reply #166 on: August 24, 2013, 12:54:38 PM »
Could you add securecookie to that and check to make sure it works, please?

Code: [Select]
<ruleset name="Elliquiy">
  <target host="www.elliquiy.com" />
  <target host="elliquiy.com" />

  <rule from="^http://(www\.)?elliquiy\.com/" to="https://elliquiy.com/"/>
  <securecookie host="^(\.)?elliquiy\.com$" name="(ElliSMFCookie11|PHPSESSID)" />
</ruleset>


This rule worked for me too. Upload feature on wiki section worked fine too. \o/



Offline Oreo

Re: Forcing https?
« Reply #167 on: August 24, 2013, 12:57:35 PM »
Whoa wait! I can get on E through my Xbox and PS3?

Offline Rogue

  • The Bratling ~ her Mx ~ they/them unless other pronouns/gender are specified please~
  • Champion
  • Addict
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2012
  • Location: delens solem lunam facti sunt ei
  • ~Edenmon Master~ ~GenderFluid~
  • My Role Play Preferences
  • View My Rolls
  • Referrals: 0
Re: Forcing https?
« Reply #168 on: August 24, 2013, 01:03:15 PM »
Whoa wait! I can get on E through my Xbox and PS3?

WHAT IS THIS SHENNANIGANRY!?!?!

*Waits eagerly for the answer*

Offline TaintedAndDelish

Re: Forcing https?
« Reply #169 on: August 24, 2013, 01:19:42 PM »

Why not? as long as you have a web browser on it and an internet connection. Hell, you could probably get on with a Wii too.


Offline Falanor

Re: Forcing https?
« Reply #170 on: August 24, 2013, 01:22:08 PM »
Whoa wait! I can get on E through my Xbox and PS3?
Both have web browsers on them.  Granted, the 360 is using IE.  I've not done so in a long, long time, but I'm game for giving it a whirl in case it can be done.  Then I'll just need to get a wireless keyboard and mouse that can stand up to the occasional defiant Kaylee cat deciding to walk across my lap...

Offline Oreo

Re: Forcing https?
« Reply #171 on: August 24, 2013, 01:27:29 PM »
Both have web browsers on them.  Granted, the 360 is using IE.  I've not done so in a long, long time, but I'm game for giving it a whirl in case it can be done.  Then I'll just need to get a wireless keyboard and mouse that can stand up to the occasional defiant Kaylee cat deciding to walk across my lap...
Ah I can even plug a wireless keyboard into the USB? I am just wondering in case a PC ever fails - and I need my fix.

Offline TaintedAndDelish

Re: Forcing https?
« Reply #172 on: August 24, 2013, 01:33:27 PM »
There isn't a "HTTPSEverywhereUserRules" folder either.

This is what I'm seeing after opening the "Profile Folder" button:



Do you have the HTTPS Everywhere addon installed?

This Firefox add-on can be downloaded and installed from here: ( It does not appear to be available directly from Mozilla's add-on page )
https://www.eff.org/https-everywhere






« Last Edit: August 24, 2013, 01:38:17 PM by TaintedAndDelish »

Offline Falanor

Re: Forcing https?
« Reply #173 on: August 24, 2013, 01:40:50 PM »
Ah I can even plug a wireless keyboard into the USB? I am just wondering in case a PC ever fails - and I need my fix.

Yeah, before the cat, I used to have a damn nice set up where I could quickly enter passwords and such for things on it instead of having to use the controller and that fun keyboard interface...

Offline Haibane

Re: Forcing https?
« Reply #174 on: August 24, 2013, 01:59:45 PM »
Do you have the HTTPS Everywhere addon installed?

This Firefox add-on can be downloaded and installed from here: ( It does not appear to be available directly from Mozilla's add-on page )
https://www.eff.org/https-everywhere
I didn't have it installed. The OP didn't say anything about having any plug-ins added. I've done so now and its all working beautifully. Thank you very much!