You are either not logged in or not registered with our community. Click here to register.
 
April 16, 2021, 06:00:31 pm

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length

Click here if you are having problems.
Default Wide Screen Beige Lilac Rainbow Black & Blue October Platinum Send us your theme!

Wiki Blogs Dicebot

Author Topic: Cache for a Page?  (Read 1104 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline NessyTopic starter

Cache for a Page?
« on: May 21, 2017, 06:55:20 pm »
I just realized I kind of messed up my posting thread, probably in the last few days. Is there anyway to get a back of copy of what was there before?

https://elliquiy.com/forums/index.php?topic=57193.0



Offline Oreo

  • Centurion ~Clotho~ ~ALWAYS HUGGABLE~ Doddering Ailurophile ^_^
  • Guardian
  • Carnite
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2009
  • Location: gettin outta bed, waging war with the voices in my head
  • Peace - Inspire positivity.
  • My Role Play Preferences
  • View My Rolls
  • Referrals: 2
Re: Cache for a Page?
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2017, 07:08:27 pm »
PM Veks asap and he might be able to restore it from the back up servers.

Offline NessyTopic starter

Re: Cache for a Page?
« Reply #2 on: May 21, 2017, 07:13:18 pm »
Thank you. I sent him a note. I must have deleted everything below something I updated and didn't realize it. I mean a large portion is still there but yikes, I've never done that before!

Offline NessyTopic starter

Re: Cache for a Page?
« Reply #3 on: May 21, 2017, 07:52:36 pm »
based on a PM, apparently two things were going on that happened to coincide at the same time. from my POV it felt like one thing, but it looks like something else was actually going on so I will edit my frantic rant out of this.
« Last Edit: May 21, 2017, 08:40:26 pm by Nessy »

Online Vekseid

Re: Cache for a Page?
« Reply #4 on: May 21, 2017, 08:19:45 pm »
For public reference, you can use site:elliquiy.com and inurl:threadid to get Google's cache of public pages.

https://www.google.com/search?q=site%3Aelliquiy.com+inurl%3A57193

...but I highly recommend keeping a backup of any enormously complex page.

I can recover posts in an emergency, but it is a fair amount of work, and you still need to do search&replace to recover your original post.

Offline NessyTopic starter

Re: Cache for a Page?
« Reply #5 on: May 21, 2017, 08:39:11 pm »
Well I wouldn't call it a emergency so much as wishful thinking from someone who screwed up. I know it's no one else's fault but mine that the original deletion happened.

Online Vekseid

Re: Cache for a Page?
« Reply #6 on: May 21, 2017, 08:47:16 pm »
I mean, I have backups for a reason.

It's just the database is so huge that it is going to take awhile. Just unpacking the .sql file looks like it will take over an hour.

Then I need to isolate E's database. Then I need to import it onto the remote backup.

Offline NessyTopic starter

Re: Cache for a Page?
« Reply #7 on: May 21, 2017, 08:50:48 pm »
I mean, I have backups for a reason.

It's just the database is so huge that it is going to take awhile. Just unpacking the .sql file looks like it will take over an hour.

Then I need to isolate E's database. Then I need to import it onto the remote backup.

If I was in my work brain right now, I'd be intrigued. I am in victim status so I am feeling kind of sad. I know when I had the server folks at our site restore a single file (it was a seriously messed up file), it was challenge. And, of course, I realize this isn't a file but data within something bigger. Perhaps when i stop crying over spilled milk I will find all this interesting again.

Offline NessyTopic starter

Re: Cache for a Page?
« Reply #8 on: May 22, 2017, 09:45:21 pm »
Well I feel like I should post this just to make myself feel better.

I did not delete any portion of my post. It's pretty clear now that I actually hit a character limit, and it was calculated in a way that gave me no feedback whatsoever that I was hitting it. I feel less stupid because there was no way for me to know I let my post get too big until after I hit save, and it was too late.

Offline Blythe

Re: Cache for a Page?
« Reply #9 on: May 22, 2017, 09:48:14 pm »
The character limit is something like 65535 characters, although I think special characters, like & and " can count for more, if I remember correctly.

Offline Oreo

  • Centurion ~Clotho~ ~ALWAYS HUGGABLE~ Doddering Ailurophile ^_^
  • Guardian
  • Carnite
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2009
  • Location: gettin outta bed, waging war with the voices in my head
  • Peace - Inspire positivity.
  • My Role Play Preferences
  • View My Rolls
  • Referrals: 2
Re: Cache for a Page?
« Reply #10 on: May 22, 2017, 09:52:39 pm »
That happened to me a lot when I was making my O/O character sheets. Glad you figured out what happened though, Nessy. At least you know to keep that in mind for the future. Sorry you lost information from the ordeal. 

Offline Geraint

  • RomanceCrack Dealer and Propigator of Plot Bunnies (when the spirit moves) Cunning Linguist and Doggerel Dispenser
  • Knight
  • Addict
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2011
  • Location: Behind the 8 Ball
  • Gender: Male
  • "There's no rush...but I can't wait"
  • My Role Play Preferences
  • View My Rolls
  • Referrals: 0
Re: Cache for a Page?
« Reply #11 on: May 23, 2017, 07:33:12 pm »
This happens to me quite often in my O/Os thread.  The system will tell you when you are over the character limit, but only once (in my experience) and never on an edit of a post.  Other than that initial warning, which won't let you proceed until you get the post pared down, it doesn't warn.  Nor does it show on  preview as cutting off content from the end.  It just does it when you post.

When I am doing long posts now I make a point to keep a copy of the original text in a word file (so that I always have a copy of the ending.  But when you edit large files frequently as I do, you can go over the limit without even thinking about it.  I had to reconstruct the ends of two of my idea posts just last week because they had gotten too long and gotten cut of at the end. 

It's not an elegant work around, but it helps I working with the system as is.

Another possibility is trial by PM.  PMs and posts seem to have the same character limit.  So when I'm not sure about the length of a post. I'll sometimes simply PM it to myself to see what it does.  That requires keeping a full text copy.  I usually make a copy with full formatting just before hitting the send or post button.
« Last Edit: May 23, 2017, 07:37:06 pm by Geraint »

Offline NessyTopic starter

Re: Cache for a Page?
« Reply #12 on: May 23, 2017, 09:24:09 pm »
I feel better already. I am not the raging idiot I thought I was a couple of days ago. I am sad that the misery is shared though.