You are either not logged in or not registered with our community. Click here to register.
 
January 21, 2022, 01:53:02 am

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length

Click here if you are having problems.
Default Wide Screen Beige Lilac Rainbow Black & Blue October Platinum Send us your theme!

Wiki Blogs Dicebot

Author Topic: Hmm..Anyone that plays WoW, can you tell me how many discs are in each game?  (Read 1169 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline WolfyTopic starter

  • Ally to Good.
  • Lord
  • Addict
  • *
  • Join Date: Sep 2009
  • Location: Kentucky
  • Gender: Male
  • Nightmare to you.
  • View My Rolls
  • Referrals: 4
I want to make sure I have them all so that I can re-install it onto my new computer once I get it.
« Last Edit: July 10, 2010, 05:08:41 am by Wolfy »

Offline Caeli

It's for anything. :P

Offline WolfyTopic starter

  • Ally to Good.
  • Lord
  • Addict
  • *
  • Join Date: Sep 2009
  • Location: Kentucky
  • Gender: Male
  • Nightmare to you.
  • View My Rolls
  • Referrals: 4
Well then, let me just change the title. o3o

Offline Ignaddio

  • Resident Songbird
  • Lord
  • Enchanted
  • *
  • Join Date: Jul 2006
  • Location: Virginia Beach
  • Gender: Male
  • Gotta be honest, I'm pretty easy.
  • View My Rolls
  • Referrals: 0
Erm. Really, you only need the CD keys; you can download the updater client off the internets and it'll take car of the rest, iirc. The only reason you'd need the disks is if you wanted to install it without an internet connection. And if you don't have that, well, how are you going to play WoW?

Offline The Golden Touch

  • The Warrior Witch
  • Dame
  • Addict
  • *
  • Join Date: Jun 2008
  • Location: The darkest places
  • Gender: Female
  • Patron Sinner of Sadism and Red-headed Seductions
  • View My Rolls
  • Referrals: 3
So far, each have had only one disc per game/expansion.  I just grabbed the battle chest and downloaded WotLK off the site.

Offline Jeramiahh

  • Master of Ceremonies
  • Knight
  • Carnite
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2005
  • Location: Kansas
  • Gender: Male
  • We all need a little magic in our lives...
  • View My Rolls
  • Referrals: 2
Also, if you have all the expansions, you only need to use WotLK to install; it includes the core game, and all expansion files, up to patch 3.0.

Offline The Dark Raven

  • Mother of Dragons
  • Dame
  • Addict
  • *
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Location: In the Dragon's Lair
  • Gender: Female
  • I am what I am. Someone has to be.
  • View My Rolls
  • Referrals: 1
The original box had 4 CDs to install, but iirc, BC and WOTLK have 1 CD each (6 total), or you can download it directly from the Blizz store when you order it.  Personally, I preferred having the CDs so that I can clean install them when I get a new computer.

Offline Cybrewaste

  • Knight
  • Seducer
  • *
  • Join Date: May 2010
  • Location: Australia
  • Gender: Male
  • Producer/Seducer
  • View My Rolls
  • Referrals: 0
A good idea I've found is to put your World of Warcraft folder onto an External HDD (Or a backup - Either way) after every patch or just before formatting your computer(or getting a new one)

WoW doesn't use registry keys  - So it's highly transportable. Saves having to download it from the blizzard store or taking 3 days to install and then patch the game.

I say this because I'm in Australia and standard internet is 1.5mb (150 kb/s download speed) With highly restrictive download caps, downloading from the blizzard store or redownloading a lot of patches may not be viable.

Offline Brumak

  • Beware of things that go bump in the night...
  • Lord
  • Bacchae
  • *
  • Join Date: Jun 2010
  • Gender: Male
  • The Beast Has Returned....
  • View My Rolls
  • Referrals: 0
I have my wow folder on a 1 gig external hd to keep from installing it again. But to do a fresh install from disk you only need the wraith dvd and it installs everything up to and including wraith. Then you will only have to download all the updates.

Offline WolfyTopic starter

  • Ally to Good.
  • Lord
  • Addict
  • *
  • Join Date: Sep 2009
  • Location: Kentucky
  • Gender: Male
  • Nightmare to you.
  • View My Rolls
  • Referrals: 4
Well..I could put it on the 8GB thumbdrive I have..O-o...

*shrugs* And...what do you mean I don't need the other discs as long as I have Wrath? O-o

Offline Cybrewaste

  • Knight
  • Seducer
  • *
  • Join Date: May 2010
  • Location: Australia
  • Gender: Male
  • Producer/Seducer
  • View My Rolls
  • Referrals: 0
Most likely not, My WoW folder, and the general consensu I get is that the WoW folder is about 15GB - depending on addons.

But other than that, yes - All you need is the wrath disks (Soon, probably just that cataclysm disks.)

Offline Jeramiahh

  • Master of Ceremonies
  • Knight
  • Carnite
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2005
  • Location: Kansas
  • Gender: Male
  • We all need a little magic in our lives...
  • View My Rolls
  • Referrals: 2
Just what I said. The files included on the WotLK CD include all the needed information to install the game up to patch 3.0, which includes all of the data included in the original game and TBC.

Offline WolfyTopic starter

  • Ally to Good.
  • Lord
  • Addict
  • *
  • Join Date: Sep 2009
  • Location: Kentucky
  • Gender: Male
  • Nightmare to you.
  • View My Rolls
  • Referrals: 4
Awesome..so I only have to worry about the Wrath Disc..Woot! o3o

And not even that, since I can also just download it from the Website..but the Disc would be faster. o3o