Table Coding...???

Started by Suiko, January 09, 2013, 08:33:20 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Suiko

I've tried to use the table coding in my OOs and Request threads but have never been able to figure out how it works. I look and try to insert the right bits in the right coding but... its so confusing!
Which puts a column and which puts a row? And how do you put more in? And... Help?

*Hangs his head*
Tables are scary... >>
- Main M/M Requests -
- Other M/M Prompts -
- A/As -
- O/Os -

- Current Status: Did someone say Dragon's Dogma 2? -

ebpohmr

I'm no expert, but the tags are as follows, using <> instead of []

<table>        starts making the table
<tr>             starts a new row of the table
<td>            starts a new cell within the row
</td>           closes the cell
</tr>            ends the row
</table>      ends the table

You may also wish to make use of a table BBcode generating tool, such as this. Sorry I can't be of more use, but I am still figuring out the capabilities of BBcode myself!

Suiko

Okay... but... What's a cell?

*Feels rather stupid* Is it the box where text or whatever is?
- Main M/M Requests -
- Other M/M Prompts -
- A/As -
- O/Os -

ebpohmr

Quote from: Khoraz on January 09, 2013, 08:50:58 AM
Okay... but... What's a cell?

*Feels rather stupid* Is it the box where text or whatever is?

Don't feel stupid, I was just in 'bad teacher' mode ;)

Sample 2x2 Table

This would be the top-left cornerAnd this is the top right
Here we have the bottom-left cornerAnd here is the bottom right

Look at the table above. The code (again using <> instead of [] ) to produce something similar is shown below, with explanations of each tag included inside (( )):

CodeExplanation
<table> ((This tells the editor to draw a table and include everything until it sees </table>))
<tr>((This tells the editor to add a row to the table and include everything in the row until it see's the </tr> tag))