You are either not logged in or not registered with our community. Click here to register.

February 26, 2021, 09:20:17 pm

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length

Click here if you are having problems.
Default Wide Screen Beige Lilac Rainbow Black & Blue October Platinum Send us your theme!

Wiki is back on-line. Search non-functional for now.

Wiki Blogs Dicebot

Author Topic: Butterflyfang's Request Thread  (Read 272 times)

Offline ButterflyfangTopic starter

Butterflyfang's Request Thread
« on: September 14, 2020, 10:28:40 pm »
Hi everyone!

I'm still really new to E, but I love talking about possible new stories almost as much as I love actually RPing them.

I've done it enough times now that I'm starting to get a sense of what my 'process' or whatever is like.  So, if you're interested, here's some things I've managed to realize about what I enjoy.

writing stuff
I'm a huge fan of pre-writing.  I want to really work with you and hash out as much as we can in advance.  Sure, we want to understand the characters and setting, but I also really want to understand what the conflict and structure of our story will be.  To do this, I seem to really lean into ideas like classic archetypes and tropes, trying to get a sense of what style of story we're presenting, and what will be the best way to actually set this up for a reader.

Yes… I do write as if this thing is going to be read by other people.  That means that I think in terms of drafts… I write a first pass in google docs, read it out loud to myself a few times to rework it for readability and pacing, and hopefully to catch as much grammatical and linguistic errors as I can.  Because I put so much energy into trying to get my posts as good as I can, I really appreciate partners who put a similar amount of effort into making their posts similarly punched-up.