A few notes to the above:
1) Unapproved people cannot view profiles, therefore can't edit. Not even their own.
2) Even if you check the "allow other users to contact me via email," your email is not disclosed. A person who wants to send you an email sees a web form that they fill in and that gets sent to you. Only if you decide to reply to -that- will they learn your actual email address.
3) If you do not provide a working email address, your status will change to Deverified and your access will be stripped to the level of an unapproved member until you re-verify a working email address in order to protect privacy.