Newbie-Friendly D&D Next

Started by AndyZ, November 02, 2022, 12:15:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

AndyZ

I’ve seen a lot of games out there where new players want to learn D&D but don’t feel entirely comfortable joining in.  Far too often, there’s other players who have been playing D&D for decades, the setting can be confusing, and it feels frustrating and embarrassing when you’re the only one not keeping this up.

I’m making this game for such new people, so they can start out slow and easy, having a game where they don’t have to feel bad about slowing down the game and asking lots of questions.

Accordingly, if you’re a complete expert and know how to do all the things like having your familiar grant you Advantage, this isn’t going to be a fun game for you.  More experienced players can chime in, but preference will be given to the complete newbies.

Truth be told, I’m not sure that experienced players will enjoy this game.  It’ll be focused a lot more on the basics and less on having a huge overarching plot.

Rules:

Standard character creation, level 1, 27 point buy.

If you’re far enough in that you know how to do this on your own, awesome, but if not, I’ll be happy to help you make a character.

Please note that there’s a rule out (from the book Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything) that you can move racial ability score bonuses.  For example, elves are listed as having a +2 increase to Dexterity, but if you want to swap that to another ability, you can.  Just don’t have your +2 and +1 in the same ability.

If enough people are interested: I may give out the old Andy array of 18,18,16,14,12,10.  However, I figured that if we just have normal, people will be able to try to put the characters in other games with minimal changes.

We’ll be using Discord for the OOC, as well as offering the option to use it to roll.