Climate change. Are we doing the right thing?

Started by Dashenka, July 07, 2022, 07:05:17 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Dashenka

Climate change is happening. Apart from a few die-hards, everybody will agree. But while everybody agrees that it is happening, there is a few different ideas as to the how, what and why.

I believe climate change has been happening since the birth of our planet. The balance of nature is one of imbalance. When temperatures rise, ice melts, cooling down the oceans raising the sea level. Because of the impact of our oceans on the entire earth’s climate, a cooling down of the oceans will cool down the entire planet as ice forms again. The ice will reflect the light and warmth will get trapped in our atmosphere, warming it all up again.

Obviously this process takes a pretty long while but the closer we get to the turning point, the worse things will get. I’m no expert so I don’t know when that turning point will be but led me to a question I’ve been asking myself recently and one that I really don’t have the answer for yet.

Are we doing enough of the right things?

If we accept that the climate will change and that temperatures will continue to rise and sea levels continue to rise, is everything we’re doing now, not just a conscious matter so that we can say to generations to come, we have done everything we could.

I am willing to believe and accept that ‘we’ have an impact on the balance of nature as mentioned before but I do not for a minute believe that ‘we’ can stop global warming. It is happening, it has been happening since long before we even evolved from primates and it will continue to happen long after we as a species have gone.