Electric Vehicles and Renewable Energies

Started by GloomCookie, June 14, 2022, 04:17:09 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

GloomCookie

Hi everyone!

So, I'm creating a thread that's spun off from my original discussion (found here) about renewable energy and thought I'd bring in electric vehicles, since those are also big right now.

A little background on me before we begin, since this explains where I come from. First, I am not an expert on renewables, but I do have a Bachelors of Science in Electrical Engineering, I have worked in commercial power distribution design since 2015, and I am currently working on getting my professional engineering license. I have made it a point to become well versed in regulations concerning the three major energy codes in the United States (ASHRAE 90.1, International Energy Conservation Code, and California DOE Title 24 Part 6), and the topic is really starting to take off due to this.

On January 1, 2023, California DOE Title 24 Part 6 for the 2022 code cycle (Most codes take effect the year after they're published) takes effect. It includes provisions that all commercial buildings (it may include industrial but since it's outside my wheelhouse I don't track it) must include a minimum square footage of solar panels and a means of storing that energy on-site in the form of batteries and an inverter. Currently, the 2024 International Energy Conservation Code (IECC) has opened public discussion for the inclusion of similar provisions that will take effect in some jurisdictions beginning in 2025.