The Rut: My Struggle with My Muse

Started by Rhapsody, October 30, 2009, 01:42:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Rhapsody

I've wanted to be a writer since I was kid.  Every time we got a creative essay assignment in English class, I knew I was going to rock it.  Because that's just what I do.  I'm a writer.  I always have been, and I always will be.  I dreamed, in my Rainbow Brite and My Little Pony-strewn bedroom of selling that big novel, of doing nothing but sipping lattes in some French bistro in Paris while I pounded out my next bestseller.  I didn't dream of having a cigarette in my hand while I did so, but this was in the days before I became a smoker.

Sure, I flirted with other career options.  Briefly, I wanted to be a doctor, but I hated biology labs.  My Catholic grandparents tried to convince me I should enter a nunnery and become a Bride of Christ, and before I knew what sex was, it seemed like a good idea.  A teacher, an astronaut... Always I flirted, but ultimately I remained loyal.  I was a writer, and I was going to write.

And yet, the older I got, the less time I found myself with which to write.  Other responsibilities crowded me: homework assignments that needed to be done, friends who needed to be talked down from the metaphorical ledge, the mouthbreathers who frequented my Subway where I was a sandwich slave.  I began to look for other outlets for my creativity, but they mostly involved drinking myself silly every weekend while I crushed on the secretly gay guy with the really nice clothes and the awesome cologne. 

Then I discovered roleplaying, and I was hooked immediately.  Here it is, I thought, ecstatic I'd found something that I could really enjoy doing again -- because let's face it.  As fun as getting smashed on George Street with friends you barely tolerate when you're sober is, the price you pay the next day wasn't so much fun.  Here, I thought, is my creative outlet.