Dreamlands! [VAN / BON ]

Started by Lord Drake, July 16, 2009, 04:13:17 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Lord Drake

Ok.. being me an absolute newbie and barely still not able to walk around with my own legs here..

AND

Absolutely lacking self-preservation instincts..

I'd like to present an idea I'd like to develop in a RP game, if i can find some volunteer that agrees to trust me.

The basic idea is simple and straight, and based on Lovecraft's Dreamlands (for those who have read them).

*Uses Wiki-fu*
The Dreamlands is a vast, alternate dimension that can be entered through dreams, similar to astral projection or lucid dreaming. Experienced dreamers are among the most powerful inhabitants of the Dreamlands and may become its permanent residents after their physical deaths.
To reach the Dreamlands, a sleeper must find an unusual stairway in a conventional dream and walk down the Seventy Steps of Light Slumber to face the judgment of powerful gatekeepers named Nasht and Kaman-Tha. If judged worthy (that is, able to survive the dangers of the Dreamlands), the dreamer is allowed to descend the Seven Hundred Steps of Deeper Slumber and emerges in the Enchanted Wood. When entering the Dreamlands this way, the person leaves his or her physical body safely in the waking world. If the dreamer is killed during his or her travels, the person's corporeal body will suffer only a shock. Sometimes, however, this can be fatal — dream death of this kind makes return to the Dreamlands impossible. Waking up causes a person's dream self to disappear; thus the individual may have difficulty recalling anything learned or experienced while asleep (similar to conventional dreaming). A dreamer who dies in the real world while his dream self is still alive may have the option of retiring to the Dreamlands for the remainder of his dream self's "life."