Warmachine/Hordes discussion (Iron Kingdoms miniature game)

Started by wander, October 17, 2017, 08:39:52 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

wander

Warmachine and Hordes are miniatures tabletop battles fought between spell-casters that control either steampunky robots or huge kaiju in a world of magitek and warring nations, both civilised and tribal. You can find more about the game on the official website here;

http://privateerpress.com/

So! I was wondering if anyone played it here and if so, I figured I'd make this thread to discuss games of it more. I'm a newb to the system myself, having spent the past year getting back into 40K after near 20 years away from that game. I've been checking out this game since a friend of mine is a big Iron Kingdoms fan and I figured chatter in a thread like the 40k one we already have here in Off Topic would be a neat way to learn some tips and tricks.

I found this questionnaire on reddit that is made to show how well your playstyle matches with each faction. I figured I wanted to go with what suits me best. (I play Death Guard in 40k, who are pretty tanky and excel in advancing up and chipping down the other side in shorter ranged hail, not quite a 'rush list', they excel in attrition and being hard to shift.
I'd much rather charge in than castle up. Though I don't do well with weak armoured glass lists
). I'll share the questionnaire for other new players like myself and interested parties to see who they may be suited best to.

http://www.koghrun.net/whsurv/

When I did the questions, the results that came back showed the Hordes armies to all have higher percentages and the two it said I suited best had only 3% between them, which were Skorne at 83% and Trollbloods at 80% matches. Predictably these are the two 'tanky' lists for Hordes.