You are either not logged in or not registered with our community. Click here to register.
 
December 10, 2016, 01:06:18 AM

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length

Click here if you are having problems.
Default Wide Screen Beige Lilac Rainbow Black & Blue October Send us your theme!

Hark!  The Herald!
Holiday Issue 2016

Wiki Blogs Dicebot

Author Topic: Internet explorer issue.  (Read 370 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline BlinkinTopic starter

  • Court Jester extraordinaire!
  • Lord
  • Addict
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2012
  • Location: The State of Confusion
  • Gender: Male
  • I try to be good, but it's such hard work!
  • My Role Play Preferences
  • View My Rolls
  • Referrals: 0
Internet explorer issue.
« on: September 02, 2015, 06:14:38 PM »
We are running IE 10, and starting this afternoon, whenever we open IE, a few seconds after the application is fully loaded, we get what sounds like a trailer on a loop, or some scene from some program, then about a minute later, the screen goes black. This happens regardless of what site that we go to, and with the exception of google.com, it's constant.

We've run AVG, Malwarebytes and even rstored the system to a week ago to try to fix it... nothing's worked.

Anyone experience this before or know a solution? We do not have a window anywhere popping up, nor does it seem to effect any of the sites visited. But, once the screen goes black, nothing works until we do a hard shut-down

Anyone help? Please? My wife is going into farmvill withdrawl and I'm the one suffering.

Offline Vekseid

Re: Internet explorer issue.
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2015, 10:16:38 PM »
Screen going black - does it sound like the system is shutting down?

Offline BlinkinTopic starter

  • Court Jester extraordinaire!
  • Lord
  • Addict
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2012
  • Location: The State of Confusion
  • Gender: Male
  • I try to be good, but it's such hard work!
  • My Role Play Preferences
  • View My Rolls
  • Referrals: 0
Re: Internet explorer issue.
« Reply #2 on: September 03, 2015, 03:07:34 AM »
Not that we've noticed. We have discovered that it doesn't actually happen with all websites, but it starts when we open in facebook/farmville. It will continue regardless of where we go from there, for the time before the screen goes black.

If, for example, we change the homepage to google, it doesn't start at all, but if we go to facebook/farmville, it starts... so I guess that it's a problem with the site rather than our system.

Offline Vekseid

Re: Internet explorer issue.
« Reply #3 on: September 03, 2015, 09:02:07 AM »
It sounds like a graphics driver glitch.

Are there any pending updates to the system?

Are you able to download e.g. Chrome and try that as your browser?

Offline BlinkinTopic starter

  • Court Jester extraordinaire!
  • Lord
  • Addict
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2012
  • Location: The State of Confusion
  • Gender: Male
  • I try to be good, but it's such hard work!
  • My Role Play Preferences
  • View My Rolls
  • Referrals: 0
Re: Internet explorer issue.
« Reply #4 on: September 03, 2015, 09:05:19 AM »
But would a graphics glitch create what sounds like a movie trailer or partial scene from someprogram, without a window opening and only when one site is visited?

We'll look and see if micosoft has any updates we haven't seen.

Ok, update.

We have figured out that it one of Facebook's ads, it's popping up in a corner of the page and is a video for Southbeach Diet. It must be overloading the graphics for some reason, but we can't find a way to disable this particular ad... anyone have any ideas on how to do it? I know that there is a way to disable/stop specific ads, but not how.

Thanks
« Last Edit: September 03, 2015, 09:27:28 AM by Blinkin »

Online Oniya

  • StoreHouse of Useless Trivia
  • Oracle
  • Carnite
  • *
  • Join Date: Sep 2008
  • Location: Just bouncing through. Hi! City of Roses, Pennsylvania
  • Gender: Female
  • One bad Motokifuka. Also cute and FLUFFY!
  • My Role Play Preferences
  • View My Rolls
  • Referrals: 3
Re: Internet explorer issue.
« Reply #5 on: September 03, 2015, 09:17:24 AM »
Silly question, since I don't do the Farmville thing - does that use Flash?  There were some issues involving Flash recently, so at a bare minimum you might want to make sure that your Flash is updated to the most recent version.  (I've actually removed Flash for the time being, and while certain games don't play, I've noticed a complete absence of those auto-play advertisements.  I'm weighing whether the games are worth the annoyance.)