You are either not logged in or not registered with our community. Click here to register.

December 06, 2016, 03:49:35 PM

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length

Click here if you are having problems.
Default Wide Screen Beige Lilac Rainbow Black & Blue October Send us your theme!

Hark!  The Herald!
Holiday Issue 2016

Wiki Blogs Dicebot

Author Topic: Building a Game  (Read 524 times)

Offline A PainterTopic starter

Building a Game
« on: August 23, 2015, 07:04:38 AM »
Hey, guys! Since I am fairly new to E, I'm not sure what the ingredients to make a successful game are, so I'd really appreciate some help!

I have a story in my head that I really, really would love to turn in to a game, but I feel the PvP element will make it difficult to role play without a proper system in place. 
The problem?  I've never run a game with a system, so I wouldn't know how to set it up.

Basically the game would end up in the Extreme section of E because it's a horror game based off Fruits Basket (just the cursed family member part), Toukyou Kushu (taken elements of the gouls and made aspects of that part of the curse) and it's going to be based in Feudal Japan.

The game will have 3 sides: the cursed family (who may even be at war with themselves), the oni hunters who will eventually discover and try to kill the family, and the villagers who may or may not be able to tip the scales in one side's favor.

Would a system be good for this type of game?  I only play D&D 5e and I've never had to calculate stats on the level a DM has to. 
Would a free form game be better?  How do I keep things in control and stop conflicts between players in a less structured game?

Offline HairyHeretic

• Lei varai barbu - The true bearded one
  • Knight
  • Addict
  • And the Scorpion said "Little frog .. I can swim."
  • My Role Play Preferences
  • View My Rolls
  • Referrals: 1
Re: Building a Game