"Consider Replacing Your Battery" - How vital?

Started by Kythia, March 22, 2015, 04:32:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kythia

My laptop has started coming up with this icon:

and when I mouseover it it says:

QuoteFully Charged (100%)
Consider Replacing Your Battery

I'll actually be getting a new laptop in a couple of weeks - is the thing likely to die on me before then?  How imminent is battery death when that warning arrives?

The Dark Raven

If you are getting a laptop in a few weeks, wing it.

I have been stringing along a non-charging battery for my laptop for 4 years.

Check my A/A | O/O | Patience is begged. Momma to Rainbow Babies and teetering toward the goal of published author. Tentatively taking new stories.

bubby

Quote from: Daylily on March 22, 2015, 05:15:31 PM
If you are getting a laptop in a few weeks, wing it.

I have been stringing along a non-charging battery for my laptop for 4 years.

Ditto. You're not supposed to keep the battery in while plugged in, which I didn't know, so I bought a new one with a new cord after the rabbit chewed through mine. The new battery still isn't really good, but at least it's saved for if this one takes a crap so much that the laptop dies if I unplug it. I currently got like 5 minutes battery life, which is fine. Keeps the thing from tilting over backwards.  ::)

Vekseid

Quote from: Kythia on March 22, 2015, 04:32:10 PM
My laptop has started coming up with this icon:

and when I mouseover it it says:

I'll actually be getting a new laptop in a couple of weeks - is the thing likely to die on me before then?  How imminent is battery death when that warning arrives?

It's probably based on how much charge the battery holds. It'll just get more and more annoying to depend on the battery.

But their half-life is measured in years, so it's not like a few weeks is going to make much difference. They just hold less and less charge time.

Kythia

kylie