Beginner here, looking to play.

Started by Doc85, May 11, 2012, 05:55:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Doc85

Hey, so I've never role played before except on the computer, meaning that I've played Baldur's Gate, and a ton of games like it, so am familiar with the idea, but not really the nuts and bolts of how this is done.  If anyone feels like they have the time and patience to help me get into this, I'd really like to.

Tsumi Okazaki

Sweetie, I suddenly have nothing but time on my hands and would be glad to show you the ropes.

Doc85

Great!  I'm free tonight if you still are.

Tsumi Okazaki

Sure however how late do you normally stay up? I tend to spend most nights online since I normally dont sleep much.

Doc85

I'll be up for another 4 or 5 hours tonight, I'm on Pacific time.

Tsumi Okazaki

Sweet. Okay, how much do you know about role play and what kind of experience do you have?

Doc85

Practically none.  If it's like D&D, then you have stats and skills that combine to determine the success or failure of any actions you choose to take.  However, all my experience comes from video games, so I don't know how constrained you are when choosing actions, which actions require a roll, or other "nuts and bolts" type things.

Tsumi Okazaki

Lol well with me you wont have to worry about that. I have no DnD experience. I stick to story line role play and have never really used a dice system for it.

Doc85

All right, so how do you go about getting started then? 

Tsumi Okazaki

Well that usually takes a little planning. You have to have an idea or story that you wish to try. Then you need to develop it enough so that you can use it. Then you plan out your characters and what they are capable of, a few of the struggles they will go through (I usually also ask my role players what they would like to add.) along with the overall outcome of the story.