You are either not logged in or not registered with our community. Click here to register.
 
November 18, 2017, 02:47:08 AM

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length

Click here if you are having problems.
Default Wide Screen Beige Lilac Rainbow Black & Blue October Send us your theme!

Wiki Blogs Dicebot

Author Topic: New Firefox update...  (Read 56 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Captain MalteseTopic starter

New Firefox update...
« on: Yesterday at 06:28:51 AM »
...and all my bookmarks are gone. ALL. There were literally thousands. Hint please?

Offline Sara Nilsson

Re: New Firefox update...
« Reply #1 on: Yesterday at 07:09:36 AM »
Deleted or is the bookmark icon just missing? I noticed it no longer shows the bookmark icon by default (made me happy as I never use it)

Offline Captain MalteseTopic starter

Re: New Firefox update...
« Reply #2 on: Yesterday at 07:11:50 AM »
Oh well. Turns out Firefox had just removed the Bookmarks button from the top menu to several clicks deeper in. I was able to move it back, and then my heart started beating again as well. Maybe there is a reason why they didn't see the single most important feature of their menu vital enough to keep front and center, but I don't want to hear it.

Sara, I did find my bookmarks list. What do you mean you never use it?

Offline Sara Nilsson

Re: New Firefox update...
« Reply #3 on: Yesterday at 07:15:13 AM »
I just put the bookmarks in the bookmarks toolbar not the menu (ie just under the web address window). I find it far easier to use. It is technically the same thing but looks wise I find it easier to use.

Offline Captain MalteseTopic starter

Re: New Firefox update...
« Reply #4 on: Yesterday at 07:23:44 AM »
Ah, so you are still using your bookmarks - just not the button. Maybe I am allergic to change but I am also allergic to every toolbar I can get rid of. My eyesight is diminishing so I use big fonts which blows up the windows, which are cut down by the toolbars already. My dream is that one day Elliquiy will have a top menu that does not take my whole initial screen.

Offline Sara Nilsson

Re: New Firefox update...
« Reply #5 on: Yesterday at 07:29:03 AM »
I can understand that, my eyesight is pretty bad too. But I just cant stand the standard bookmark icon, its to slow. I tend to have 8+ windows open all the time so.. i am used to clutter

Offline Captain MalteseTopic starter

Re: New Firefox update...
« Reply #6 on: Yesterday at 07:38:40 AM »
And since I am complaining about Firefox - why did they go with a near black slab of a tab marker? The old one was just mid bluish. Now it looks like a revisit to the old days of all text operating systems. Yuck!

Offline Sara Nilsson

Re: New Firefox update...
« Reply #7 on: Yesterday at 07:47:10 AM »
You can change that.

Tools - > Options -> General and scroll down a bit

Offline Captain MalteseTopic starter

Re: New Firefox update...
« Reply #8 on: Yesterday at 08:00:02 AM »
...that one I could not find. I am talking about the top-of-the-screen tab marker.

Offline Sara Nilsson

Re: New Firefox update...
« Reply #9 on: Yesterday at 08:01:10 AM »
Alt+v opens it.

I know what you mean, it was the first thing I changed.

Offline Captain MalteseTopic starter

Re: New Firefox update...
« Reply #10 on: Yesterday at 08:18:31 AM »
I could find the General menu. Just no way to change that color choice.

By now I am also realizing that another major tool for me, DownThemAll!, is not compliant with this new FF version which is evidently called Quantum. I went to the Mozilla website and there are others looking for a way to roll back to a previous version. It is the first time in my years of Firefox use that I have felt the need to do so, so I will give it a couple of days before going down that route. I have a feeling I am not the only unhappy user so there might be a fix rolled out quickly.

Offline Sara Nilsson

Re: New Firefox update...
« Reply #11 on: Yesterday at 08:28:23 AM »
its because I am an idiot. :)

its under view. toolbar, customize and at the bottom. Its themes, change it to light.

sorry about that. brainfart, which is impressive considering how little brain I have
« Last Edit: Yesterday at 08:30:48 AM by Sara Nilsson »

Offline SithLordOfSnark

  • There is Something About Me That I Want To See In You...No, Not That You Perv.
  • Lord
  • Enchanted
  • *
  • Join Date: Oct 2016
  • Location: Surrey, BC, Canada
  • Gender: Male
  • Join the Snark Side. We Have Cookies. And Snark.
  • My Role Play Preferences
  • View My Rolls
  • Referrals: 0
Re: New Firefox update...
« Reply #12 on: Yesterday at 09:10:01 AM »
I love this update and yeah, I use the Bookmarks Bar as well. It's much easier for me.

Offline Captain MalteseTopic starter

Re: New Firefox update...
« Reply #13 on: Yesterday at 09:39:08 AM »
its because I am an idiot. :)

its under view. toolbar, customize and at the bottom. Its themes, change it to light.

sorry about that. brainfart, which is impressive considering how little brain I have

Oh, that is perfect. My eyes hurt less already. Thank you.

Offline Sara Nilsson

Re: New Firefox update...
« Reply #14 on: Yesterday at 09:42:48 AM »
Most welcome, sorry for the brainfart

Offline Captain MalteseTopic starter

Re: New Firefox update...
« Reply #15 on: Yesterday at 09:53:51 AM »
It look like every gallery downloader program that worked with Firefox until now, is no longer functioning. The sole software that is apparently working, and approved by Firefox, is Bulk Image Downloader - which contains two parts. One app for installing in Firefox, and one separate installation into windows which on top of that, is a pay-for product. Well, I still have Internet Explorer installed.

Offline Sara Nilsson

Re: New Firefox update...
« Reply #16 on: Yesterday at 09:56:27 AM »
Give it a few days to update their addons, it always happens with major updates.

Offline wander

Re: New Firefox update...
« Reply #17 on: Yesterday at 10:10:05 AM »
I find it's running slower for me than it did before.

It also took me a bit of time to get my Bookmarks sorted as I prefer them, I have them in a handy button drop-down menu next to my address bar. I found a lot of the changes actually going against how intuitive things were before, though I've got a handle on it all at present.

I'm less than happy though am tolerating it's new version. I'm disappointed as they have a dev team, you'd think the new version would be easier to use and less fiddly. Or it'd leave your settings alone when it updated. I recommend everyone to go through the Options page and see what might have been changed from your older version.

Offline TyCaine

  • Romancer of souls, Destroyer of inhibitions... ~ Enforcer of the Lady Lioness
  • Lord
  • Seducer
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2009
  • Location: North Florida, US
  • Gender: Male
  • Something witty to go here...
  • My Role Play Preferences
  • View My Rolls
  • Referrals: 0
Re: New Firefox update...
« Reply #18 on: Yesterday at 10:43:32 AM »
I haven't upgraded, to be honest, I'm running the Firefox ESR version based upon, I think, version 42 which will be available until sometime next year.
I do too much web development to have everything change so quickly, and staying ESR will give the newest version of Firefox time to get tweaked and defects fixed....

Offline Captain MalteseTopic starter

Re: New Firefox update...
« Reply #19 on: Yesterday at 12:50:31 PM »
Not sure how I feel about this yet. But according to task manager, FF is now running five processes instead of just one. Gut feeling is that there now are five times as likely as before for the program to crash or cause other programs to crash.

Offline TyCaine

  • Romancer of souls, Destroyer of inhibitions... ~ Enforcer of the Lady Lioness
  • Lord
  • Seducer
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2009
  • Location: North Florida, US
  • Gender: Male
  • Something witty to go here...
  • My Role Play Preferences
  • View My Rolls
  • Referrals: 0
Re: New Firefox update...
« Reply #20 on: Yesterday at 01:34:41 PM »
Yes, it's taken a leaf out of Chrome's book for running multiple processes in the newest version.
Rather than spawning innumerable processes though, apparently the devs thought 5 or 6 was just right, not too many, and yet more to allow multi-threading and quicker behavior, as well as allowing one thread to drop and be respawned while leaving the main processes running...

and nope...  sticking with ESR (FireFox Extended Service Release) until next year, I'll worry about it then or after I get time to figure out precisely what impacts the newest changes have on my day to day tasks.
« Last Edit: Yesterday at 02:21:39 PM by TyCaine »

Offline Captain MalteseTopic starter

Re: New Firefox update...
« Reply #21 on: Yesterday at 01:50:38 PM »
And I was wrong, too. It's not five processes. It's six. And the only page I am on right now, is Elliquiy. What the hell does it need a near GIG of memory for - the direct info links to NSA, North Korean Intelligence, FSB, MI6, GIGN and the Chinese Ministry of Misinformation? It's six, now I think of it.

Offline wander

Re: New Firefox update...
« Reply #22 on: Yesterday at 02:00:58 PM »
Interesting, I just looked at my own Task Manager, mine's at four processes and around 600MB. Probably why the browser is a split second slower than the last version, however my comp is taking the load okay outside of that.