D&D Classic Adventures Interest Thread (Now Closed)

Started by HannibalBarca, January 10, 2018, 12:00:51 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

HannibalBarca

I'm an old roleplaying gamer.  I mean, old.

Okay, maybe 48 isn't that old...but I started playing Dungeons and Dragons when I was ten...two years ahead of the recommended age of 12 on the original Basic D&D box set from 1978, which I received as a Christmas present in 1979.  I've spent most of that time as a GM, and run many, many campaigns, as a teen and adult, over the decades.  Unfortunately, my last time running a campaign was a play by email on Yahoo Groups in the early 2000s. 

I've run, and re-run some of the most classic adventures based in the original D&D World of Greyhawk, to the point where I eventually stitched them together--with some of my own adventures--into one cohesive campaign, in which the players could run their characters from neophytes all the way to world-saving heroes.

I played almost completely within the 1st Edition rules of Advanced Dungeons and Dragons (AD&D), with only a touch of 2nd Edition thrown in towards the later years.  While I've never run a 3E or 3.5E campaign, I played a lot of Neverwinter Nights and it's attendant expansions on my PC back in the day, and I think I have a good grasp of that system's basics.  I don't own any of the books, though I've read up some on the Pathfinder system as well...I'm certainly no expert on that, either.  Perhaps the RP could even be played freeform, although I think some minimal amount of D&D framework would be useful in that as well.