A Brief History (Thete's Blog)

Started by Theta Sigma, April 02, 2017, 09:34:00 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Theta Sigma

I miss having a proper blog. I did the daily challenge a few years ago here and failed awfully. >_> This is more of a lax blog with no hefty schedule, and will also be a place to put reviews, thoughts and general life comments.

As we currently stand in 2017, I am a part time History student studying through distance learning, I am currently unemployed through no fault of my own, I am a gamer, I enjoy a lot of media (Doctor Who in particular) and I identify as genderqueer, mostly male. I don't tend to think about that so much, though.
I am 26, I have been in a relationship for nigh on ten years, and we are open & poly. And he's a member here! :>
He is mostly a lurker.

Terrible introduction complete, this now exists for when I want it. Yay.

O&Os

A&As/Tracker
They/Them pronouns

Theta Sigma

This bad boy came through in the post yesterday. Yooka-Laylee. Yay! Throwback nineties time. I've been lusting after this since it was Kickstarted a few years ago, and spent a great deal of time regretting not jumping in on it. I've had it pre-ordered since January. I miss the old platformers of days gone by. A lot. I grew up with them, and I spent a great deal of my childhood being stuck on these things.

Yeah, things haven't changed.

I just happen to know a hell of a lot more swearwords these days to display my frustration. >_>

Yooka is everything I expected but a lot more frustrating than I anticipated. I never played the Banjo games, and this is essentially Banjo in a new skin. I didn't own an N64 until way after the generation ended, and even then, I barely used it.
And then I just... Didn't ever touch the Rare collection when we had an Xbox One for a brief period.
So, I can't compare this to the nostalgic originals. It does, though, remind me a lot of Croc.
God, Croc was an amazing game.

I digress.