TamperMonkey Script

Started by Ssieth, June 09, 2015, 05:27:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ssieth

Hi there,

I hope this is the write place to post and apologies if it isn't.  I'm one of those fussy people who never has the feature that they want on a site.  Fortunately, for me at least, I'm also a programmer.  So - I have a tendency to write scripts to tack on the features I desire and then, if I can kludge them into a not-too-buggy state, I make them available for anyone else who also desires the same features.

The scripts work using a firefox plugin called Grease Monkey (http://www.greasespot.net/) or a chrome plugin called Tamper Monkey (https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/tampermonkey/dhdgffkkebhmkfjojejmpbldmpobfkfo).

Then you just pop my script in there and it adds in the extra features. 

The script can be found at:  https://openuserjs.org/scripts/Ssieth/Elliquiy_Improver

Feel free to let me know if it's useful, useless, confusing, broken etc :)   If you want other features let me know too :)

So far those features are:

Hide Pictures
This hides avatars and images in posts.  Why?  I wanted the script to be able to hide them at work so I could use Elliquiy without fear of anyone glancing over and getting too interested in what I was doing.

Quick Topics
Bookmarks by another name... this is a drop-down menu that has links to specific topics.  You can set/remove topics with a new button on the topic button bar.

To be honest I created this before I was aware of the bookmarks feature but I like it better as I like my navigation to be all up there in that menu bar.

Snippets
The ability to store frequently used bits of bbcode/text to be pasted into posts/PMs.  I created this to make it easier to post with a standard character header.  The interface is still a bit clunky... to remove a Snippet you have to click "Add Snippet" and then type in the snippet name with no body text.
Posting Status: Hoping for 1-3 per week / game