Gate! Thus, the USMC fought there! (interest checking for Fantasy/Modern clash)

Started by Monfang, March 31, 2013, 06:09:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Monfang

This will be a bit of a change from the usual Modern/Fantasy clash. This time, magic isn't so powerful against the sudden arrival of weapons that can shoot metal faster than the speed of sound and against rolling metal machines that fires exploding rounds.

This is my first attempt at GMing a game, so it will be fully freeform with only rules of common sense to keep things in order. I would love for any guidance if you wish to offer it. Here is what I have thus far thanks to people who assisted.

Concept
Concept:

If you read manga, you may recognize the title, that is because it is the exact same name as the series that I am basing this on. However, as I know more about America's military and culture than I do Japan's, I traded the JSDF for the US Marine Corp. After some research, I chose the Marines over say the Special Forces due to them having to serve as first contact which I don't believe fit the roles of the Special Forces.

This is open to all players. There are a wide range of roles that can be fulfilled such as the squad that the story would focus on and the fantasy beings they might encounter whether they be hostile or otherwise. I would also like players who would like to take up roles as members of the undercurrent like politicians, members of foreign nations, terrorist groups, people in power on the other side of the Gate, ect.

Story
Story: