Would imposing new/more tarrifs on foriegn goods help the economy?

Started by Brandon, August 11, 2010, 06:59:01 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Brandon

Alright so, I want to get away from the big points in polotics and religious debate for awhile. So I want to talk about something else thats been on my mind for the last few years. For a long time its been next to impossible for small businesses to produce and sell goods while still being able to compete with prices from overseas companies. Now Im no economic expert, far from it, but I wonder if tarrifs would be something to look into to help the economy? I think I would like to take an even bigger step and make it so that any company with 51% or more of its workforce overseas would be charged a tarrif as if they were a foriegn company.

So elliquiy what do you think?

Would these ideas help us get out of the rut were in? Why or why not?
Brandon: What makes him tick? - My on's and off's - My open games thread - My Away Thread
Limits: I do not, under any circumstances play out scenes involving M/M, non-con, or toilet play

RubySlippers

I would not actually set a "tariff" rather a "foreign equality provision" one should look at how another nation treats its workers, pays them and provides quality of life then impose a tax between that standard of living and the US.

Say you pay slave wages, work your people 60 hours a week, don't provide for their health and well-being and/or employs child labor than impose an equalizer on imports. Say Nike makes shoes in China and they do these things and the pay is considered subpar for a human to live decently by our standards tax the shoes so it encourages parity with the US. Then we can argue we are just doing this to help those foreign workers if it so happens that they then end up paying more to import them (shipping and the like are not cheap) than making them here is thatour problem?