scvhost.exe can suck it...

Started by bubby, May 25, 2015, 03:13:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bubby

Anyone know how to stop this damn thing that's eating my memory and making me have to restart again and again just so I'm not working in a perma-lag mode?

I've perused through some of the youtube tutorials... did 1 and NOTHING changed. (Something about changing a something-or-other can't remember the name to N) Anyone know of a viable solution? As a complete tech newb I'd need a step by step.

Vekseid

svchost itself isn't a specific application on your machine. It's a program that runs services that run from dynamic link libraries (.dll files) - thus the name service host. What you are looking to go through are the services that are installed on your machine.

In task manager, you should be able to right-click on svchost.exe and select 'go to services'. You can then go through them and see which ones you can safely prune.

bubby

Quote from: Vekseid on May 25, 2015, 03:21:02 PM
svchost itself isn't a specific application on your machine. It's a program that runs services that run from dynamic link libraries (.dll files) - thus the name service host. What you are looking to go through are the services that are installed on your machine.

In task manager, you should be able to right-click on svchost.exe and select 'go to services'. You can then go through them and see which ones you can safely prune.

Through my research your words make a little bit of sense, and I do know how to get to said 'pruning area'. This is where my knowledge stops. I have 10 of the sonsabitches running; 2 of them running at high numbers. My knowledge on how to find out which one(s) I could 'safely prune', or even how to do said pruning, is totally non-existent.

Vekseid

Psi

Start > Run > CMD > tasklist /svc /fi "imagename eq svchost.exe"

Use task manager to identify which PID is running high and you might be able to track down which service is running at near 100% and post that