Domestic Violence (Seren and shooter6806)

Started by shooter6806, October 25, 2012, 02:27:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

shooter6806

Domestic violence.  Domestic abuse.  Whatever you want to call it, it affects more people than we imagine.  Less than half of all domestic abuse incidents are reported to police, and despite improvements in laws regarding domestic abuse, even when they are reported, the response is often less effective than it should be.

In real life, I’m a police officer.  I’ve handled literally hundreds of domestic abuse calls.  I’ve had male victims, female victims, children victimized both directly and by having to watch their parents beating one another up.  I’ve dealt with everything from too much harsh language to murder/suicide.  I did it all with the detachment necessary of a professional, and however sympathetic the victim was and however horrific the crime was, I kept my feelings out of the situation. 

All that changed earlier this week. 

I’ve been writing with Seren here on Elliquiy for almost three months.  She’s fun to write with, and we PM’d each other several times a day.  We respected each other’s privacy, but we developed the kind of friendship that is quite common here.  A couple of nights ago we were PMing each other as usual when she started sending me messages that were deadly serious and frightening.  “Please tell me you’ll be here for me.”  “I can’t do this any more.”  “I’m scared.” 

After a bit of coaxing, she told me that her husband had beaten her up a couple of days before, and that he had started again that night before passing out.  I told her to get out, call 911, go to a friend’s house.  She was too embarrassed to do that.

Then she went off-line.