Zoos do you agree, disagree or are on the fence?

Started by Damnedangel, November 22, 2013, 10:42:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Damnedangel

So just a bit of basics before I launch into my question :)

I'm studying a degree to do with animal behaviour and welfare, at the moment the module I'm studying is to do with zoo's, safari parks, aquariums and other animal collections like them and I've been asked to get peoples opinions on them. However my problem is I've asked people and all I got is a resounding 'I kinda agree' which doesn't really help me.

I need opinions differing from 'Yes I strongly agree' to 'No I don't agree'. The maybes do help but I need varying opinions for my essay.

So my question to all of Elliquiy is 'Zoos do you agree, disagree or are on the fence?' if so what are your opinions? What do you think about the zoos, aquariums etc?
Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum - If You Seek Peace Prepare For War.
We all have multiple personalities. The Average is three, but some people have more.
There's the face you wear for your friends and family, the one you let the outside world see.
Then there's the face you see everytime you look in the mirror.

Beguile's Mistress

During the last few decades zoo and other facilities housing animals have come a long way to improving conditions, getting animals out of cages and into the open and studying the various species they have in house.  Our zoos and aquariums are provide a safe haven for some extinct in the wild species or those that are in danger.  Health care has improved as well.  The educational opportunities are amazing and that alone is a way to keep the public aware of conservation efforts and the need to protect those species that are threatened.

I think zoos are good. :-)

Sel Nar