GM and Storytelling Issues

Started by Meatboy, September 06, 2018, 08:41:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Meatboy

I'm new to E and still feeling my way through the stuff here.

Anyway, here are a few things that kind of bug me and I want to get them out of the way before I begin proper.

1. Do you allow for homebrewed settings or gaming ideas like alternate universe games like Brighthammer or a Shadowrun game that's more about Neighborhood Watch characters instead of Shadowrunners themselves?

2. Is there a way to make a religious horror game or adventure without being "offensive"?

Inkidu

1.) Yes.

2.) That's way too complex a question to even answer. You can never really tell what's going to offend someone, but just make it clear what kind of game it is up front and let people know that they may find it offensive.
If you're searching the lines for a point, well you've probably missed it; there was never anything there in the first place.

Blythe

Quote from: Meatboy on September 06, 2018, 08:41:06 PM
I'm new to E and still feeling my way through the stuff here.

Anyway, here are a few things that kind of bug me and I want to get them out of the way before I begin proper.

1. Do you allow for homebrewed settings or gaming ideas like alternate universe games like Brighthammer or a Shadowrun game that's more about Neighborhood Watch characters instead of Shadowrunners themselves?

2. Is there a way to make a religious horror game or adventure without being "offensive"?

1. Oh, absolutely. Many system games here have homebrewed settings. I've done this myself sometimes with my own takes on cWoD cities rather than use their canon. So homebrew away. (Be mindful of Rule 5, though, don't illegally share copyrighted pdfs/content, etc.)