Navigating the Social Aspects of Eclectic Groups

Started by Happy an Nice, March 09, 2009, 08:00:56 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Happy an Nice

Navigating the Social Aspects of Eclectic Groups

Wed, 11/05/2008 - 22:11 — Happy an Nice
I admittedly have little experience with role-playing forums so the reader would be wise to consider my thoughts within that context. I can expand that to say I have little experience in social online forums. Still further, I need to admit that while my social exposures are well varied, I do not thrive in them. While I may succeed at some more than others, I like to return to my solitude. (see MBTI thread).

My impression of E is that is it high on the social interaction scale for many sites of similar nature. This poses certain endemic difficulties when a spectrum of personalities interacts. Cover that with the veil of printed word without body language and tone, and the risk increases exponentially.

We bring different expectations and backgrounds into our conversations. Cultural variations in social decorum leave each of us with a different understanding of what is polite, hasty, expedient or rude. Differences as subtle as a rural upbringing rather than an urban one can lead to differences in cadence which can create the impression of impatience or for the urbanite who feels like their pulling teeth, being less than forthcoming.

Different perspectives lead us to inequalities in evaluation. You may say “you’re wrong” and feel right in doing so but hearing “you’re wrong” may still feel like an attack to you. Much depends upon whether you are speaking or hearing it. It’s just a fact. It’s easier to offer an opinion than to accept criticism.