Usage - bare, bared, bore?

Started by Zeitgeist, November 15, 2011, 07:38:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Zeitgeist

The past tense of bare is bared, right? Not bore?

The priestess let slip the raiment from her shoulders and bared her breasts to the light of the moon.

Sounds off to me, I want to say bore, but I don't think that is right. Thanks

Lord Mayerling

That is the correct usage of bared, the past tense of bare.

Zeitgeist

Quote from: Lord Mayerling on November 15, 2011, 07:40:39 PM
That is the correct usage of bared, the past tense of bare.

Yeah, I'm seeing that now, the more I dig. I guess I'll just have to live with it sounding funny to my ears. After all, it is correct, lol.

Star Safyre

To say she bore her breasts would mean her boobs find her dull or that she drilled holes in them.  If she got naked, she bared them.   :-)

/Englishteacher
My heaven is to be with him always.
|/| O/O's / Plots / tumblr / A/A's |/|
And I am a writer, writer of fictions
I am the heart that you call home
And I've written pages upon pages
Trying to rid you from my bones

Zeitgeist

Quote from: Star Safyre on November 15, 2011, 07:43:08 PM
To say she bore her breasts would mean her boobs find her dull or that she drilled holes in them.  If she got naked, she bared them.   :-)

/Englishteacher

LOL I know. I got it right teach ;D

I must be thinking of another unrelated usage...bearing a burden. His whole life he bore the burden of tragic accident.

Please tell me you have a paddle, teach ;D

Star Safyre

Corporal punishment isn't my style.  I'm all about the positive reinforcement.  ;)

Yes, you were thinking of carrying a burden.  So if she had very heavy breasts that found her dull so she drilled holes in them, she would have bore them in all senses of the word.   *chuckle*
My heaven is to be with him always.
|/| O/O's / Plots / tumblr / A/A's |/|
And I am a writer, writer of fictions
I am the heart that you call home
And I've written pages upon pages