Greyhawk? Eberron? Dragonlance?

Started by Ramael, June 25, 2010, 06:51:50 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ramael

Hope this is in the right forum.

Yeah, that's right, I'm talking D+D, though talking from a novice POV.

I was wondering what the popular campaign settings are, maybe if there is one overall preferred universe that seems to be played by the majority?

I'm new to DnD, and the main pull of it for me is the ability to interact in one universe, and go back to a character that grows within that universe, getting to know it as well as the real world in which we live. However the multiple worlds and settings of DnD campaigns sometimes confuse me and put me off - if I DID ever play DnD, I wouldn't want to have to start all over again with a character just because we were playing a different realm that week.

Is there one particular setting that is a standard?

Also, as a second point, is there a preferred universe that is played here on E! ? If I would dip my toes into DnD, I'd do it here first to avoid the cost of books and miniatures if it's only going to be a passing phase for me.

As another sidenote, I only have in-depth knowledge of the world of Krynn (Dragonlance novels <3), but I appreciate finding a Dragonlance-set game must be hard. My local gamers seem to prefer homebrew worlds and universes.

Brandon

There were really only 3 I played to any extent. I dont know a thing about greyhawk but Dragonlance was a knight like setting that tried its best to be low magic by forcing arcane spellcasters to be part of an order (similar to dragon age). Eberron tries to involve "Magitech" in the world which I always found annoying but beyond that I know next to nothing about the setting.