(Interest check, seeking co-GM) D&D inspired wilderness exploration and survival

Started by shroom, August 31, 2023, 04:52:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

shroom

Right, here goes.

So I have this idea for a game that I've explored very briefly in the past and wish to do more with if there is interest to do so. I'm willing to GM it myself but as I am new to Elliquiy and still finding my footing, I'm looking for a co-GM to help not only run the game but also with the technical side of things.

The Setting: It starts in a land of magical abundance, but calamity strikes and threatens to destroy everything. The players live in a small town that has always opposed the overuse of magic, and the mayor sets into motion a contingency plan made just in case this sort of thing happened. The villagers have no more than a day to gather their things and prepare themselves before fleeing to the wilderness, settling down in a mostly untamed and unexplored new area. The meat of the game will be low magic and low power level, with a focus on exploration, town development and inter-character relationships.

The Characters: I'm pretty open in terms of details, but I'm willing to work with a group as small as three and as big as however many are interested. The players will all be villagers of this low-magic town and as a result any who can use magic will be of exceptionally low power, about equivalent to a level 1 character in D&D terms. They will each have a role in the town, and any key professions not filled in by the players will be assigned to NPCs with the option of taking a small number as GMPCs if interested. The characters will already at least know of each other before the start of the game, with plenty of opportunity for pre-established relationships. I also plan to let them have NPC family such as a significant other or children if they want.