Car Help, Opinions/Suggestions Needed.

Started by Krysia, September 24, 2009, 10:35:32 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Krysia

Ok, I’m not too good with cars and I’m really picky on some things. I like to get several opinions before I make a major decision on anything to do with cars. I have a 2000 Hyundai Accent GL for starters.

So here is the story, last spring my car sat in a garage for 6 months at the mechanics until we had money to pay for her distributor system to be fixed. 6 months after that the Alternator had to be fixed on it, 1200 dollars in 6 months on this car.

Now I get the check engine light coming on, knowing the past experience with the car it means, “Take me to get fixed or I’ll die right here.” The husband and I take her in to get checked out. We find out sensors on the catalytic converter aren’t working right. The grade of gas we’re using, which is mixed with 10% ethanol, has the catalytic converter thinking it’s not doing its job correctly when the gas goes into it and comes out of it. 

Next problem, the engine has to valves on it that shut when the engine turns off. So that the gas vapors that sit in the engine don’t escape. These aren’t shutting so it’s effectively like me driving around with the gas cap off.

The mechanic cleaned off the sensors and got the check engine light to stay off. I was told to change gas stations to try and find a non-ethanol blend of gas. Easier said then done in this area, all the gas stations have the 10% or 20% blend of gas. If I can’t find a place I’ll have to replace the catalytic converter on the car.

Now my question is, because I’m a newbie with cars is: Should I keep the car or should I trade it in for something new? I was told that replacing the converter could cost up to 1000 dollars and the blue book value of the car for its condition is 1000-1500. I’m not sure if I should get the converter replaced and deal with the car or get a new one.