News:

Sarkat And Rian: Happily Ever After? [EX]
Congratulations shengami & FoxgirlJay for completing your RP!

Main Menu

Calling all Asians: How racist is this idea?

Started by jouzinka, February 05, 2014, 12:15:16 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jouzinka

I am a makeup artist and I have a problem.  ;D

A clothing designer student friend of mine got recently assigned to design and sew a kimono (of all things). For her graduation she needs to have it photographed for archives and this is where my problem is. We have a very Caucasian model, who has recently dyed her super-short hair peroxide blonde.

Yet, I would like to mask her as if she were a performer of the traditional Kabuki theatre.

Am I crossing the line?
Story status: Not Available
Life Status: Just keep swimming...
Working on: N/A

Valthazar

I'm South Asian, and I don't think it is racist at all, but I am sure there will be someone or another who will think it is.  We are a multicultural society, and it is a shame if there are some people out there who will actually try to pick a fight over something like this.

gaggedLouise

Seeing that Kabuki is a recognized stage tradition that's influenced many western artists (David Bowie, for instance) I don't see why this would be racist at all. It's not in the least comparable to "blackfacing" a white actor to make fun of black Americans.

Good girl but bad  -- Proud sister of the amazing, blackberry-sweet Violet Girl

Sometimes bound and cuntrolled, sometimes free and easy 

"I'm a pretty good cook, I'm sitting on my groceries.
Come up to my kitchen, I'll show you my best recipes"

jouzinka

You would think, right? Still, seeing how much heat Katy Perry caught for her geisha performance at the AMAs, I realize this is a touchy subject.

Lux12

Quote from: jouzinka on February 05, 2014, 12:15:16 PM