News:

Main Menu

The 26.2 Blog

Started by Zillah, June 07, 2015, 08:22:48 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Zillah

I used to be in really, really good shape. In the couple of years where I wasn't working at an office job managing financial portfolios, I was a personal trainer at a fitness center. It paid a lot less, but I was a lot happier.

A few years ago, I was in a car accident that was pretty bad. That pretty much derailed my personal trainer career for the long term. Physical rehabilitation, as well as a whole bunch of surgeries, took over my life for a bit. Between that and other personal issues, I hit some low points - mentally and emotionally, as well as physically - that left me in some dark places that I didn't know if I'd get out of.

I've gotten into boxing as a way of getting back into shape. It's only been the past six months or so, though, where I've finally been able to train at it consistently, and at a level I'm happy with. But I want to get back in even better shape, if only to reclaim a small piece of my life back.

My own personal trainer recommended that I take up running, to really improve my cardio. I've been doing that since January.  I'm doing really well, enough so that, well...

... I'm going to try to run in a marathon.

I'm entered in the New York City Marathon in November. I've just started a teasing program geared for peaking for that race. I imagine I'm going to be hitting a lot of highs and lows between now and then. And while I don't know how consistently I'll be able to blog about this experience, I will be blogging about it.

Starting now.

Here goes ...

Today's run: 15k (9.3 miles), 01:11:46 (hrs/min/sec)

Zillah

One thing I've learned about running - don't go cheap with sneakers. If you're starting to run, or even doing just a lot of walking to get in shape, having the right pair of sneakers makes a huge difference. The wrong pair may not only be uncomfortable, but can aggravate injury.