Superman renouncing his U.S. citizenship

Started by gaggedLouise, April 29, 2011, 01:22:28 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

gaggedLouise

Superman renounces his US citizenship - at least he threatens to do so in the new Action Comics issue. His non-violent protest against the Iranian regime is labeled an American act of war and superman decides to distance himself from Washington. "I don't want my actions to be put down because of their being construed as tools of U.S. policy" is his rationale.

- http://tinyurl.com/3zapp7z

Predictably, the story provoked serious anger among right-wing bloggers. I'm waiting to hear Sarah Palin and Bill O'Reilly on this.

Standout comment on the Guardian site: "If Superman really existed and had been raised in America's bible belt the world would be a scary place"  ;D

Good girl but bad  -- Proud sister of the amazing, blackberry-sweet Violet Girl

Sometimes bound and cuntrolled, sometimes free and easy 

"I'm a pretty good cook, I'm sitting on my groceries.
Come up to my kitchen, I'll show you my best recipes"

TheVillain

Frankly, "The American Way" has changed so much since the 20's that I'm glad for this change. I am reminded when Marvel had Captain America get asked for a reporter how he can truly stand for American Ideals when he doesn't have a facebook page or watch NASCAR.

The American Way now-a-days aren't anything worth fighting for. What was once Truth, Justice, and Freedom, now just means selling out for large corporations and other morally disgusting crap to make a buck.

Good for you Superman. Maybe we don't really stand for anything anymore, but Superman still can.

Pardon my cynicism.
My O/O's / My A/A's / My Ideas
Update - Apologies to all my partners, real life is exploding and I've gotten far behind.

Pointless Digression

Wait a tic. Isn't Superman an illegal immigrant?

gaggedLouise

Quote from: Pointless Digression on April 29, 2011, 05:13:56 AM
Wait a tic. Isn't Superman an illegal immigrant?