The Lush Gardener

Started by Kendra, March 01, 2023, 09:05:38 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kendra

T H E  .  L U S H  .  G A R D E N E R

I wish I could tell you that I am an expert but I am not. My journey in gardening did start when I was very young, helping my grandfather with his tomato plants when we called to visit or selling trays of seedlings around our neighbourhood to earn a bit of pocket money. All my family were keen gardeners, and I thought that by default I would be too. It turned out for many years that my best skill in the garden, any garden was killing things. So naturally, I was put in charge of the weeds. Win-win really.

We moved house a few years ago and have a bit of a decent-sized garden now, that is probably an understatement but with land comes responsibility as any of my Irish ancestors would inform me. You must look after the land! I can actually hear the voice of the Bull McCabe when I say that. But he is right and we do. To the extent that we do not use any sprays, everything is organically grown, we compost and grow our own fruit and vegetables. I am using the royal 'we' here mind you. Again, I was Super Weed Killer extraordinaire but I was also super busy, with University, work and getting to know my new family. When all of the college stuff got completed, I discovered I had quite a bit of time on my hands and wanted to be more helpful and so I took on the vegetables and herbs.