US law and Pedophilia

Started by Custos Morum, May 31, 2008, 07:17:26 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Custos Morum

A dear friend and I was arguing wether there is inbedded in the law that child abusers should receive mental care, if they are condemned as pedophiles. I said so, she said that there wasn't. Sadly, none of us know too much about US law. Anybody here that knows?

Sherona

I believe in some states that there is a law that makes it to where convicted sex-offenders repeatedly convicted can be sent to a mental health institution after they have paid their debt to society for an indetermined amount of time until the doctor declares them a non-threat to society.

Not sure if that is precisely it, law is not something I am at all knowledgable in.

Trieste

As far as I know (I'm not a legal expert - just offering personal experience via hearsay here) sex offenders in general (pedophelia, rape, etc) do go to jail but are often required to undergo counseling as part of their rehabilitation, or as a requirement to their probation. If they miss too many of their therapy sessions when theyr'e on probation, they go back to jail. The father of one of my exes was on probation and went to jail due to missing too many group sessions.

ShrowdedPoet

Some places require it, some prisions give it, but from what has been seen, most of the time it doesn't do any good.  I don't think it's required everywhere though.
Kiss the hand that beats you.
Sexuality isn't a curse, it's a gift to embrace and explore!
Ons and Offs

kongming

Quote from: ShrowdedPoet on May 31, 2008, 10:06:30 PM
most of the time it doesn't do any good.

Mainly due to the prison system itself (Monday: counselling. Tuesday: prison rape. Wednesday: being beaten unconscious.), and the fact that if someone is imprisoned as a murderer, once they're released they are free to go, but for sex crimes, once released, they have to register as a sex offender and can never again live a normal life.