Hidden History with Clio

Started by Clio, November 01, 2022, 01:41:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Clio

Hi!

Some of you may know me as Clio, some may know me as my old names Christa or Christa McGinn. I have been on E for almost 14 years, and although there have been breaks due to health and other personal things, I have met some of the most important people in my life here and consider E a vital part of my life and history.

That's not what this blog will be about, though. I actually joined E when I was working on my history degree, and celebrated as I graduated all those years ago. I am now in school for my master's degree in archaeology and anthropology, with a certificate in social justice. The only thing I have left now is my thesis.

All that was just to give a bit of background and to reassure you that I know at least a bit about what I'll write on. However, I will never claim to be an expert on all areas of history, as that wouldn't be possible. I have certain areas I'm interested in, but some require more research on my part than others. One area that interests me greatly is the history that is often overlooked or hidden from your history books. The history of indigenous peoples, LGBTQ+, women, people of color, disabled, mentally ill, etc. They are often little more than foot notes or only thought of as the "sad victims." This is not to say that many of their stories aren't sad, but they are so much more than that. They were leaders, inventors, builders, writers, artists, etc.

I also tend to prefer diving straight into the ugliness of history instead of looking at it with rosy glasses. I'm obviously super fun at parties. XD I think looking at the bad parts is necessary if we hope to make a better world for us and those after us.