Interesting Computer Problem

Started by Missy, April 22, 2015, 11:27:42 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Missy

So about an hour ago I started experiencing some significant lag issues while gaming on my PC. It came up kind of randomly since the previous day the game I was playing played fine and I experienced no such issues until all of a sudden. Well looking at it on my task manager it appeared as though I was using a significant amount of my PC Memory/RAM, over 95%, so I tried a restart and things ran just a little bit more smoothly, but I ultimately had to stop playing because it was still giving me random lag spikes.

After I closed everything Mumble, the game and everything else which I had running I checked on the task maanger again and for some reason even though I have no other applications or windows open it still says it's using 78%, at the lowest, of memory/RAM.

I'm really not sure why this is and though I'm no expert I really think it's not supposed to do that . . .

I've checked in the processes tab of the task manager and I don't see anything which says it's taking up a significant bit of memory space and I have restarted my PC once since this problem first arose and it seemed to make no difference. I'm not really sure and am rather confused as to why this is even a problem so I'm kind of curious if anyone knows of anything that might be able to help?

sleepingferret

Just a few quick questions, ones I'm sure you've already looked at, but I just want to make sure of.  And one or two that are slightly more technical, again just to help eliminate somethings.

• Have you been installed any new programs lately?
  • Or have you been running any new programs lately, like say trying out new voice chat software or chat programs and just leaving them running?