Looking for Sci-fi kinds of games.

Started by Leodouble08, April 29, 2015, 03:14:08 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Leodouble08

Well let's just say I'm not a newbie when it comes to tabletop games. I have been a part of games and tried my hand at running a few, using systems such as D&D 3.5, Pathfinder, and Mutants and Masterminds.

However, I LOVE sci-fi, and that never really seems to come up too often. So I have a few questions.

What are some sci-fi tabletop games out there/which are more well known?
Is there any online resources to find them? (Think like http://www.d20pfsrd.com/ for Pathfinder)
And is anyone here open to running a sci-fi game/is running one now? I would love to join.  ;D

Well that's all for now. I hope to hear all of your suggestions.

plasmarobo

Shadowrun is more cyberpunk. They're on the 5th edition of that now. There is a game recruiting here. The ruleset is not free, but the RP is more freeform and plenty of people can help you out. Chummer5a is also an excellent free tool (windows/.net required) for character creation.

Stars without Number is a Firefly type space game. Has a very interesting world. No FTL comms, but spike drives allow FTL jumps. It's also free! You can find the PDF online!

Rifts has elements of Scifi. I'm not too aware of this one, played it once.

There is a freeform space RP trying to acquire players here.

wander

My favourite scifi game is Mongoose Traveller right now. It is a system that has very little setting in the corebook and is a game based around space travel and the varying lines of work a space traveller may find. There is fluff books that expand on it's default setting called The Third Imperium, but lots of people just make up their own fluff and use the system. Noteable for having fun life-path character generation, spaceship design rules and also a system for generating random planets and also sectors of space to go travel with your designed ship.