Usability recommendations

Started by Kane Marrok, July 17, 2017, 08:55:00 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kane Marrok

I work on the internet by trade, and as such, started to notice a few usability issues that I felt were worth bringing up. I wouldn't be surprised if they're already part of the conversation in the inner circles, but no harm in reiteration:

1. Gigantic Shoutbox 'above the fold'

Shoutbox is a thing. Hit the site at any time, and at least a few somebodies are in the chat. However, even when it's Disabled, it takes up a massive amount of real estate on the screen.  I'm currently viewing in a widescreen monitor, and even with the Shoutbox disabled, I'm losing the top 3rd of my browser.  When it's enabled, I lose the top half of the screen.  Further, I haven't seen a user setting to default Shoutbox to minimized. I personally dislike chat boxes, and would prefer to have the box be as small as possible while I'm searching for RP or posting.

2. Mobile Friendly

Simply put, the site is not. I looked into SMF since the footer of the site points to it, and a quick look did turn up a few themes that were developed with mobile in mind (EX: https://custom.simplemachines.org/themes/index.php?lemma=2870)  I know people migrating to this site that are currently very reliant on mobile use, and this is a major hangup to talk them into joining.  Having a default mobile friendly theme would be a big improvement.

3. Giving 'Notify' by Default

I brought this up during my Pending Approval limbo, since it seemed to be a very intuitive need. While in Pending status, I was able to Bookmark my Introduction thread, however, I would not get notifications about replies to my thread, and didn't have access to the Notify button until I was listed as Approved.