News:

Main Menu

Retail jungle

Started by Fairehawke, October 15, 2011, 01:15:20 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Fairehawke

(A rant for comic relief)

Helping people, it's something I love doing with whatever endeavor I set forth to accomplish. So it seemed logical to me to pick retail as a job. I have a lot of knowledge of many things. I am an expert of none. I am literally a bard of the modern age. I've picked at so many hobbies and been interested in enough things that selling products comes naturally to me. Within my experience both in the food service industry and retail, both very similar in ways, I have found a joy and a frustration. These are some of my hilarious and annoying experiences working in the world of retail at the biggest cooperation currently selling things to people so they can save cash to live a better life.

Customers and their types:

The soccer mom:

This wily breed of customer believes I have all the time in the world to walk her to each department and shop for her while she wrangles kids, snack duty, and sporting equipment.  I love helping. If you can't find an item or two I'll gladly walk you right to them. I am more then happy to draw you a map, but I stop the line where I am becoming a personal shopper. Since it is not my job and I will be in trouble for not watching my area after 20 minutes so as to kept my management team happy I turn soccer mom over to an assistant manager. I am sure they can find her the gluten-wheat-sugar free chips she needs for tonight's game cause she's always in a rush.

The teenager: