Wireless Router Purchasing Help?

Started by Faustus, June 14, 2016, 08:53:56 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Faustus

Backstory: For almost twenty years I have been on dial-up internet. No joke. The home that I will be in for another ten days still has dial-up AOL running to it for almost $50 a month. To get what I have thus far, I've been tethering off a mobile phone and just kind of rolling with it. Anyway, the home I am moving to (spouse's mother's home) actually has high-speed internet that runs to it via Charter. Now, his mother doesn't have any use for the internet, so no worries about sharing it.

Having said all of that, this is my first time needing to purchase a router for my purposes, and I have no idea what I actually need.

Internet Uses: I'm exceptionally simple with internet uses and desires. The following are the primary uses it will need to work with:

• Internet Browsing
  • Social Media [Tumblr mostly, but low-use Facebook]
  • Netflix and other Streaming media
I don't go any online gaming, so no need to worry about that. Basically, I'm pretty par-for-the-course standard.

The internet will only be used in one room of the house, with everything in fairly close proximity to itself, though the laptop will need to remain mobile if at all possible for long writing sessions. I tend to live on it a little bit as well. My preference is to spend $100 or less on the router because of tight funds, but I can understand if we need to pay a little more for it.

BASICALLY this is the first time I have ever had to buy a router and I have no idea what I am doing thanks to dial-up for years. Any suggestions on good ones to use are greatly appreciated! I had seen this Tenda AC15, and I think it is okay? But some users have struggled to set it up, while others have said it gives up the ghost after six weeks, so I'm not sure.

“You may my glories and my state depose,
But not my griefs; still am I king of those.”