Palestine accorded State status by UN

Started by Callie Del Noire, December 01, 2012, 01:30:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Callie Del Noire

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-middle-east-20550864

I think that this COULD be a good thing. There has been a massive LACK of inertia on the part of the Israeli government for sometime, as well outright theft of lands that weren't theirs in the last few years. The US has done little to nothing to prod them into returning to practicing good faith measures.

In all honesty, the BEST solution to defusing the Israel/Palestine solution, as well as taking out the Hammas  control of the Palestinian authority would be to go 'yeah.. we need to give back this land.. and honor our past promises.'.

Don't see it happening though.

My take.. mostly as a semi-self-taught-informed outsider.

The Palestinians have been the kicking boy of the arab world for decades, used by everyone to throw at the Israelis.. and the Israeli government has been over backward to accomodate a small portion of their population (the Ultra-conservative Jews) and between these two issues.. this issue, which could have been fixed back in the 70s Camp David accords along with the issues between Egypt and Israel, has festered for far too long.

Neither side is in the wrong or in the right entirely.

Black Hand

Resident of Israel here. We have this problem. Only the far right really wants to continue the occupation just for the settlers sake. We have this problem though. No one here really thinks that if we were to leave the west bank, it would do anything besides give the Palestinians more room to attack us. When we left Gaza in good faith, the PA got overthrown and then Hamas started attacking us. I would love to end the blockade if that would solve anything, but if you think that will mean Hamas will stop attacking, I have a piece of land on Atlantis to sell you.