Question about ethnicity in the US

Started by Beorning, September 10, 2013, 05:46:10 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

gaggedLouise

Good girl but bad  -- Proud sister of the amazing, blackberry-sweet Violet Girl

Sometimes bound and cuntrolled, sometimes free and easy 

"I'm a pretty good cook, I'm sitting on my groceries.
Come up to my kitchen, I'll show you my best recipes"

Ascia

Dhi

Quote from: mia h on September 11, 2013, 06:39:39 AM
Jessica Alba is a hard one to label, part Mexican, part French, part Danish and if I read it correctly possibly part Thai
Do you remember where it was you read this?

Serephino

What do you say you are when you are a mix of things?  I'm German, English, Irish, and French.  All in all, I'm mixed Caucasian.  But, I have a friend who is Mexican, Cuban, Native American, and British.  He says he's an American mutt.  People assume he's Latino because of his appearance.   

Rogue

Personally, Latino is the culture. I'm mostly Mexican. I sure as hell put Hispanic on any thing asking me for Race because minorities get more things, and my last name screams it. On the other hand, the only thing Latina about me is my mad hunger for Mexican foods and love of the music.

I'm not Family centric like most Latinas are and I'm not a party girl, and the languages that come out of my mouth when I'm angry at work are a bastardized mix between Japanese, Korean, and Mexican (I only say Mexican because the slang from different countries is different. It's all spanish, but call a Puerto Rico a Bendeho (?) and they'll think your cursing at them while to Mexican's the connotation is less extreme. (Goes from Dumbass to Stupid).)

That's my take on it at least.

Ascia

Quote from: Rogue of TimeyWimey Stuff on September 13, 2013, 06:41:16 AM
On the other hand, the only thing Latina about me is my mad hunger for Mexican foods and love of the music.

YES!

My own mother used to call me 'her little coconut.'