News:

"Wings and a Prayer [L-E]"
Congratulations OfferedToEros & Random for completing your RP!

Main Menu

Anyone familliar with Blue Rose?

Started by Vice, May 26, 2006, 04:34:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Vice

Has anyone else heard of, and been intrigued by, Blue Rose from Green Ronin games? It's a romantic fantasy-themed RPG, using their "True 20" system (it's a derivative of the Mutants and Masterminds system, which was a radically stripped-down and re-built version of d20), which actually looks like it would play rather nicely. The rules are very simple (it only uses a single d20 for rolls), and I think the theme would work well here.

The thing is, I'm not really good at running play by post games. Not in the long run, in any case. Rather than petition for a board, what I'd like to do is run a very short-term, single adventure, just to introduce interested parties to the general system and such, and hopefully inspire someone to take up GMing a more long-term game (that I could play in, of course).

Basically, the game takes place in a kingdom called Aldis, a fairly young kingdom dedicated to the ideals of justice and equality. They are beset on all sides by dangers, however; a powerful Lich King to the north, who hungers to subjugate the people of Aldis as he and his kind (The Sorceror Kings) did in the previous age, and to the east, the Theocracy of Jarzon, who hate the Lich King as much as the Aldins do, but who also hate the Aldins for their liberal beliefs and refusal to convert to the Jarzoni religion.

Also, there are numerous darkfiends and such left over from the previous age of Sorceror Kings, greedy merchants, corrupted nobles, corrupted adepts (adepts are the magic users in this system), political intrigue, and of course, romance.

More information can be found at http://www.blueroserpg.com

If this sounds interesting to you, let me know.

Fyrangel