The Artist's Paycheck (or lack, thereof)

Started by Noelle, October 10, 2010, 07:45:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Noelle

It's been awhile since I've published a blog here, so I figured it was time to get back on subject.

Today, my subject matter is, as the title might imply, art careers.

I am a recent graduate with a degree in visual art, which is often the subject of both self-depreciating jokes and light ridicule from others. While I'm not living in a cardboard box beneath a freeway (yet), breaking into the creative industry is not an easy endeavor and requires either dumb luck or a massive amount of patience and self-discipline on the part of the artist. I have yet to land my first full-time job in graphic design (as I am aiming for), and it's been tough going even finding openings in a vaguely art-related field, even as a multi-trained artist across a large variety of fields including fiber arts, glassblowing, and a variety of traditional and digital 2D mediums.

I guess you could say that most career paths are suffering right now due to the poor (but gradually improving) economic situation in the US, but I have found that applying for jobs in an artistic line of work is often accompanied closely by feelings of dwindling self-worth and moments of extreme self-doubt even before the application is completely filled out, especially so when the times are hard. We all have our share of troubles, and this blow to the ego isn't just unique to the arts, but I've found that it's often more nerve-wracking to send in a portfolio than it is to merely write my qualifications down on paper. It's less personal, more objective, and I suppose it's naturally easier to feel flippant about a job choice that doesn't mean much in the long run.