For the Writers

Started by anon, July 08, 2009, 08:38:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

anon

Disclaimer: I'm not an expert on publishing. I just keep my ears to the ground and I hear stuff.

Chances are, many of you know a lot of what I'm going to be going on about, but there might be a few of you that don't. I'm hoping that the basic facts here will inspire whoever wants to get their novel, novella, short story, and poetry published to do their research before submission.

So. There are quite a few ways to get published now. You can go with the commercial publishers, the big press (usually prints and ebooks now) and small presses (there are quite a few epublishers now, so they generally do ebooks but a few of them have branched into print as well). And then there are the DYIs (self-publishing): vanity publishers, not-so-obvious-vanity publishers, and alternate resources.

The big press and small press are pretty self-explanatory. Examples of a big press are Random House, HarperCollins, Little Brown, Pocket...etc. Small presses? Ellora's Cave, Howard Publishing, Samhain...etc. How to reach those publishers? There are plenty of information on the internet now, but if anyone wants me to put up a flow chart, I can do that the next post.

But nope. This one is about self-publishing.

Self-publishing is rough. You don't have the marketing team backing you up and you basically have to rely on word-of-mouth and your own marketing skill to get the word out. There are a few instances where self-publishing is a good choice though: i.e. a book done for a niche group, a memoir that you want to share with just a few people...etc. There are examples of where people do "make it" as a self-publishing author, but those are few and far in between.